Skip Navigation Linksweather.gov   
NOAA logo - Click to go to the NOAA homepage National Weather Service Forecast Office   NWS logo - Click to go to the NWS homepage
National Weather Service Binghamton, New York
Left nav bar  
 

August 21, 2009 Severe Thunderstorm

The damage reported was mainly around Noon on August 21, 2009. Below shows a series of radar images, 0.5 degree Base Reflectivity on the left and 0.5 degree Storm Relative Motion on the right. Again the damage shown on this page was in the Harris area and just to the west. The radar images are from 11:18 AM EDT (1518 UTC) to 12:26 PM EDT (1626 UTC).

Move your mouse over the
text below to view images...

August 21 1518 UTC
August 21 1522 UTC
August 21 1527 UTC
August 21 1531 UTC
August 21 1535 UTC
August 21 1539 UTC
August 21 1544 UTC
August 21 1548 UTC
August 21 1552 UTC
August 21 1556 UTC
August 21 1601 UTC
August 21 1605 UTC
August 21 1609 UTC
August 21 1613 UTC
August 21 1618 UTC
August 21 1622 UTC
August 21 1626 UTC


What is UTC time?
Radar images...


Below shows a series of radar images, 0.5 degree Base Reflectivity on the left and 0.5 degree Storm Relative Motion on the right. This is shows that another area of significant storms moved across the Harris area. The radar images are from 12:52 PM EDT (1652 UTC) to 2:05 PM EDT (1805 UTC).

Move your mouse over the
text below to view images...

August 21 1652 UTC
August 21 1656 UTC
August 21 1700 UTC
August 21 1704 UTC
August 21 1708 UTC
August 21 1713 UTC
August 21 1717 UTC
August 21 1721 UTC
August 21 1725 UTC
August 21 1730 UTC
August 21 1734 UTC
August 21 1738 UTC
August 21 1742 UTC
August 21 1747 UTC
August 21 1751 UTC
August 21 1755 UTC
August 21 1800 UTC
August 21 1805 UTC


What is UTC time?
Radar images...

US Dept of Commerce
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
National Weather Service
Binghamton Weather Forecast Office
32 Dawes Drive
Johnson City, NY 13790
(607) 729-1597
Disclaimer
Information Quality
Credits
Glossary
Privacy Policy
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
About Us
Career Opportunities
Page last modified: August 25, 2009