Safe Boating Week 2007

 

USCG Aux Logo

Personal Water Craft
USCG Auxiliary Hampstead

 
 

...PERSONAL WATER CRAFT...

THE FOLLOWING IS A SAFE BOATING MESSAGE FROM THE USCG AUXILIARY HAMPSTEAD

Personal Water Craft commonly referred to as PWC's are a common sight over protected waters in our area in warm summer months. PWC's are a pleasure to use and give the operator and passengers a unique appreciation of the water.

However, PWC's are considered high performance recreational boats and must comply with Federal and State laws and with the Navigation Rules.

Teenage operators must also comply with North Carolina mandatory education and age requirements. No person under 14 years of age may operate a PWC. A person between 14 and 16 years of age may operate a PWC if the person is accompanied on board by a person at least 18 years old or possesses ID proof of age and a certificate for completing an approved safe boating course.

Accidents by PWC's tend to be severe as it is easy to be flipped over or thrown into something hard as is similar to a motorcycle accident. The saying that "speed kills" is similarly applicable to PWC's.

Also, PWC's are legally restricted to slow no wake speed when operating within 100 feet of an anchored vessel, docks or swimmers as well as canoes and kayaks.

Do your part to boat responsibly and allow others to also enjoy North Carolina's beautiful coastal waters.


THIS MESSAGE WAS BROUGHT TO YOU BY...

THE USCG AUXILIARY HAMPSTEAD

 ...YOU'RE IN COMMAND. BOAT RESPONSIBLY!...

$$ 

National Weather Service
Wilmington Weather Forecast Office
2015 Gardner Drive
Wilmington, NC 28405
(910) 762-4289

Click here to contact Webmaster
Page Last Modified May 15, 2007
Disclaimer Privacy Policy