CHILDREN AND LIFE JACKETS
United States Coast Guard Auxiliary Georgetown, South Carolina

As a reminder, South Carolina law requires ALL children under 12 years old
to wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved Personal Flotation Device while onboard
ANY boat less than 16 feet long. Seat cushions do NOT meet this requirement.

Please note that the flotation device MUST be fastened and of the proper
SIZE for the child.

Also, the Coast Guard recently approved the use of automatic inflatable
flotation vests. These can be more comfortable for children to wear during
the summer.

Remember, the largest cause of boating fatalities is because people do not
wear life jackets.

Most boating deaths can be prevented; therefore, protect your children by
ensuring they obey the law and wear PFD's.

...Boat Smart; Boat Safe; Take Control...

$$