Thomas Jefferson Award Presentation

Dr. Elpenor R. Ohle (2nd from left), from Celo, NC, receives the most prestigious Thomas Jefferson Award, climaxing to more than 50 years of dedicated service to the NWS. This award is presented to approximately five of the most outstanding cooperative weather observers in the United States for unusual and outstanding accomplishments in the field of meteorological observations. Those so honored are selected from the more than 11,000 observers who devote so much time and effort to recording the climate of this country. This award is named in honor of President Thomas Jefferson, who began taking weather observations in 1776 and maintained a virtually unbroken record through 1816.

Pictured (L-R): John Forsing, NWS ER Director; Dr. Ohle; Dr. Joe Pelissier, MIC, NWSO GSP; Terry Benthall, DAPM, NWSO GSP

photo courtesy of Grant Goodge

Back to Current month.